HomeAboutChargesContact
 

Call for a FREE Adult DUI Offense Consultation in Orange County


 

we Serve the following cities in Orange County, California

Anaheim, Aliso Viejo, Balboa, Brea, Buena Park, Corona Del Mar, Costa Mesa, Coto De Caza, Cypress, Cerritos, Dana Point, Foothill, Fountain Valley, Fullerton, Garden Grove, Huntington Beach, Irvine, La Habra, La Palma, Los Alamitos, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Los Alamitos, Mission Viejo, Midway City, Newport Beach, Orange, Placentia, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Santa Ana, Seal Beach, Stanton, Sunset Beach, Tustin, Trabuco Canyon, Villa Park, Westminster, Yorba Linda

Submit Your Case Details

Your Name


Phone


Email


Date of incident


Describe your case


Your contact information is kept confidential and will not be shared with 3rd parties.


Second DUI Offense in Orange County

California Vehicle Code §23540

a. Punishment If any person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 and the offense occurred within ten years of a separate violation of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, 23152, or 23153, which resulted in a conviction, that person shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 90 days nor more than one year and by a fine of not less than three hundred ninety dollars ($390) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).
b. The person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352. The court shall require the person to surrender the driver's license to the court in accordance with Section 13550.

California Vehicle Code §23542
Conditions of Probation for Second Time Offense

If the court grants probation to any person punished under Section 23540, in addition to the provisions of Section 23600 and any other terms and conditions imposed by the court, the court shall impose as conditions of probation that the person be subject to either subdivision (a) or (b), as follows:
a. Be confined in the county jail for at least 10 days but not more than one year, and pay a fine of at least three hundred ninety dollars ($390), but not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000). The person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352. The court shall require the person to surrender the driver's license to the court in accordance with Section 13550.
b. All of the following:

1. Be confined in the county jail for at least 96 hours, but not more than one year. A sentence of 96 hours of confinement shall be served in two increments consisting of a continuous 48 hours each. The two 48-hour increments may be served nonconsecutively.

2. Pay a fine of at least three hundred ninety dollars ($390), but not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).

3. Have the privilege to operate a motor vehicle be restricted by the Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to Section 13352.5. Until all conditions prescribed in this section are met, the person's driving privilege is suspended pursuant to paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352. This paragraph does not apply if the offense occurred in a vehicle requiring a driver with a class A or class B driver's license or with an endorsement prescribed in Section 15278.

4. Either of the following:
A. Enroll and participate, for at least 18 months subsequent to the date of the underlying violation and in a manner satisfactory to the court, in a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as designated by the court. The person shall complete the entire program subsequent to, and shall not be given any credit for any program activities completed prior to, the date of the current violation. The program shall provide for persons who cannot afford the program fee pursuant to paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of Section 11837.4 of the Health and Safety Code in order to enable those persons to participate.
B. Enroll and participate, for at least 30 months subsequent to the date of the underlying violation and in a manner satisfactory to the court, in a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code. The person shall complete the entire program subsequent to, and shall not be given any credit for any program activities completed prior to, the date of the current violation.
c. The court shall advise the person at the time of sentencing that the driving privilege shall not be restored until the person has provided proof satisfactory to the Department of Motor Vehicles of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code.



  HOME | ABOUT ME | ORANGE COUNTY COURTS | LEGAL RESOURCES | CRIMINAL TERMINOLOGY | FINE CALCULATIONS
CRIMINAL CASE PROCEDURE
| GUNS vs. DUI | SHOULD I HIRE A PRIVATE ATTORNEY? | BAIL BONDS | CONTACT
  Copyright © 2005 Daniel C. Grupenhagen. Web Directory